Stop Moaning and Start Owning.

 

JasonallanscottatNo10

Jason Allan Scott invited to No.10 Downing Street 

People tend to moan.

Everywhere I go, I hear people moaning. I don’t know whether it’s down to the cold weather in the UK or since the crash most people seem to have little extra money to spend on the stuff that makes us happy.

But I don’t think the the truth is that its just the weather or the economic up’s and down’s, people have become obsessed with not been good enough. I know you know that I love social media but maybe social media is a little to blame for the fact that people have become obsessed with how they *should be living.

* By the way, don’t let social media fool you. There are people who have hardly any likes on their Instagram pictures, but still have lots of friends, and others with hundreds of likes despite being the lonely.*

You should be travelling more, You should be eating less carbs, writing a book, curating a course and learning a new language.

Lets face it, none of us are perfect and life is too short – trust me, I know.

At 5 I was kidnapped, beaten and locked away in a toilet for 6 weeks. At 12 I was shot, yes shot, through the chest and it took me 2 years to learn to write again while I did all my tests and exams orally. Then at 40 I found out I had MS . When the Neurologist first told me my prognosis, I said “thank you” and then shook his hand – it makes me cringe now to think of my reaction now. Now almost, 2 years later, I can feel myself getting worse ( less energy, MS Brain Fog, Fatigue, MS Hug and so many other great things) I think this advert pretty much sums up my life.

The truth is, nothing can cure me, but I’ve come to terms with that. After my diagnosis, I did everything to rush through making decisions, start businesses and try and travel as much as possible and write lists of things I wanted to do before anything went south. Everyone, I told, bombarding me with information of well-meaning people constantly telling me to try this and that, cut out this food and that habit.

What did I do?

The truth is, I did exactly what I did at 5, 12, 30(divorce 1), 34( divorce 2) and every time I thought I hit rock bottom or it could not get any worse, I said it takes as much energy to be scared and negative as it does to be positive and hope for the best. The truth is that I have no control over my future but the one thing I can control is how I live my life now, and I realy want to live it, not restrict it with self-imposed rules. I used to love judo, Krav Maga and driving now I am a little scared to do those things however instead of feeling miserable, I’ve decided to enjoy lifes simple pleasures. Like talking to people at networking, really listen to people when they talk ( not think about what else I could be doing) author books, speak to people about social media, events and entrepreneurship, interview people for my online radio show and enjoy every single day.

So, if you are intent on making your life “social media amazing” do nit restrict it. Stop comparing yourself and making notes about what you should be doing and instead think about what you have already achieved, because it’s very easy to lose sight of that. And when you stop and think about it, life is pretty amazing. Yes, I have missed out on some things because of my auto immune disease but I have done so many amazing things too, like talking recently at Confex on the Keynote Stage , Authoring a best selling book, co-authoring an Amazon Best seller with my peers and contemporaries, The Event professionals Handbook , attending the Brits,visiting No.10, being an ambassador for BOLD, running 2 successful companies and this Thursday hosting the Cool Venue Awards, the most watched event award show in the country, created online courses and helped author an Event Masters Degree at one of the most creative Universities in the world, and that is just the tip of the iceberg.

I can say that I’ve lived my life to the full and when I weigh it up, I’m much happier about the things I’ve achieved then worried about the things I have not.

I used to plan everything, now I live for the moment, I tick things off my bucket list monthly. Any new experiences, new food, new places – I take the chance. Last week I had Turkish food for the first time and my wife could not believe how happy I was to eat turkish delights with coffee. It is important to appreciate the small things. they are what truly make you happy.

There is so much I would still like to do, to meet The Queen, Help Millions of people, add “events” as a job on census forms, get an MBE, invent something that helps millions of people and create an opportunity that can help single parents. I am scared all the time however I am determined to put myself out there and try as many experiences as possible.

Last piece of advice is stop judging yourself on what everyone else is doing! It just makes you hyper aware of what our lives are seemingly lacking. But despite appearances, no-ones life is perfect so we all need to stop seeing it as a competition. People spend there whole life thinking about what they have not got, rather then how lucky they actually are. I mean we are not in Africa with flies looking for hydration in our eyes, we are not starving to death ( I’ve starved and its one of the worst things especially in a cold, dark, toilet for weeks). I feel so lucky to be in a country with freedoms, opportunities and freedom of speech. I have amazing friends, family, a community of #eventprofs and #entrepreneurs. I get up, almost every day, and can jump on a train or bus and go somewhere. I have access to shelter, food and education, and if you are reading this, you may also not be doing too badly.

So before you start beating yourself up for not scaling another rung on the career ladder or finding the love of your life or getting the body of a protein model or squeeze into “that” pair of jeans. Its answering your calls, emails, messages, meeting you at events, talks and travelling around the world that make me so happy -the small things that I may not be able to do later on in my life. And the truth is that, an amazing body, a million in the bank, no debt, a beach house wouldn’t change that.

Maybe its easier for me to say this because I’ve had a kick up the arse to get here. Realising what’s important in life is a process we all have to go through – I just got here quicker. The irony of the situation is that now I have figured it out , I don’t know how much healthy time I have left. But I’ve been lucky enough to learn how much people love me and show then how much they mean to me too. Sh*t happens – but that’s life. I don’t intend to waste one moment of it feeling sad.

And neither should you

Side Note

 

I MAY…
STAGGER BUT NOT DRUNK
SLUR WORDS BUT NOT STONED
FEEL FATIGUE, BUT NOT LAZY
NOT FEEL MY BEST TODAY BUT
I AM STILL STRONG

#WeAreStrongerThanMS.

 

 

 

~ by Jason Allan Scott on March 8, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
